Literary Events Calendar

Meetup icon Click on an event to view details on JRW’s Meetup page


Small Group Poetry Critique

Richmond, VA 23219 - USA: River City Poets meets on 2nd and 4th Monday nights. Bring your latest poetic work-in-progress and 6-10 copies to pass around the table; get constructive feedback from friends and colleagues. Open to all levels. Learn more.

Reveille UMC Summer Book Review: John Hart - Redemption Road

Richmond, VA 23221 - USA: Join Reveille UMC's 2016 Summer Book Reviews, a popular tradition for over 50 years, to meet acclaimed authors as they discuss and sign their books. Book reviews begin with a reception in the welcome center, followed by an author talk in the chapel. A book signing follows each talk. Tuesday, July 26th's Review will feature John Hart's Redemption Road, the latest literary thriller by the only author to win back-to-back Edgar Awards for Best Novel. http://reveilleumc.or...

Words on Fire: Poetry Happy Hour at Firehouse

Richmond, VA 23220 - USA: Kick off your evening with a dose of hot verse at Firehouse Theatre! Featuring showcased work by local poets, an open mic sign-up for those wishing to sling some spit themselves, a cash bar, and lots of good vibes & people, we can’t think of a better way to wind down your day & get the night rolling!

The Writing Show

July's show: The Secret Mind of an Author: How to think, read, and act like a writer.: Entertaining and interactive, JRW's The Writing Show has been described as: Inside the Actor’s Studio meets the New York Times bestseller list. The Tonight Show meets the art of writing. It’s inspiring. It’s fun. And it’s only happening live in Richmond. Membership to James River Writers now includes tickets to some of the Writing Shows held January-September. Learn more about registration and pricing on our site. Individual shows are price at $12 for Members; $15 Non-members ($5 for students).

An Evening of Mystery with Wendy Sand Eckel

Richmond, VA - USA: Meet the author of Death at the Day Lily Cafe, perfect for readers of Joanne Fluke and Diane Mott Davidson. Degrees in criminology and social work, followed by years of clinical practice, helped Wendy Sand Eckel explore her fascination with how relationships impact motivation, desire, and inhibition. Combined with her passion for words and meaning, writing mysteries is a dream realized. Learn more.

The Writers Farmhouse

Thursday, July 28 at 6:00 PM: Every Thursday evening, join other writers at the Urban Farmhouse in Midlothian. You can write, get feedback and encouragement, then set a weekly writing goal.

What's Going On In YA These Days?

Richmond, VA - USA: There is so much going on in the Young Adult Fiction world right now: The diversity initiative; Hollywood’s obsession with making the books into films; Banning of books in school systems for content; The interplay between social media and the books and authors themselves; Crossing back and forth between writing for adults and young adults. All of these and many other issues will be discussed as well as trends in popularity of subgenres, “making it” as an author, managing a life around a writing career. Learn more.

RYW Open Mic

Writers are welcome to attend one or both sessions; anyone wanting to read will be signed up on the spot in the lobby of the theater between 1:15 and 1:25. OPEN MIC!@ The Byrd Theater. Saturday, July 30th at 1:30 (readers should arrive by 1:15)Saturday, August 27th at 1:30 (readers should arrive by 1:15). FREE to all, writers, family, friends and fans!
: The Historic Byrd Theater is hosting Richmond Young Writers at TWO open mic readings coming up, and young writers of all ages are invited! It's a fantastic opportunity for writers to experience the thrill and joy of being heard, and in a historic setting to boot. As each reading slot is only a minute long, it's not a huge commitment. Just a chance to read a poem, an excerpt, a piece of flash fiction, a scene from a screenplay... whatever strikes them as good work.

FreeWrite Tuesdays At Sub Rosa

Richmond, VA 23230 - USA: Who says poetry has to be done in a shuttered attic or at a lonely desk? Come battle your writer’s block with us! This group is an informal meeting to freewrite and converse– we believe writing doesn’t have to be a solitary sport, and that you never know what inspiration might walk through the door. Although we’re open to specialized topics and sharing, there is no formal critique or workshop agenda— simply show up & come ready to write! Learn more.

The Writers Farmhouse

Thursday, August 4 at 6:00 PM: Every Thursday evening, join other writers at the Urban Farmhouse in Midlothian. You can write, get feedback and encouragement, then set a weekly writing goal.

Viewing page 1 of 9|Next Page