Literary Events Calendar

Meetup icon Click on an event to view details on JRW’s Meetup page


Virginia Screenwriters Forum

Saturday, November 22 at 9:15 AM: The Virginia Screenwriters Forum, now in its 24th year, is comprised of award-winning screenwriters and aspiring writers from the Richmond area, along with the VSF Actors Ensemble.  Each meeting offers open discussion on writing for film, critique sessions for two member's scripts,  up to 30  pages, followed by the VSF Actors Ensemble table readings. VSF's new meeting location, day and time is at CenterStage on the 4th Saturday of each month from 9:15 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., except December. Guests are welcome but seating is limited. Reservations are required  to attend. Contact: vsf@comcast.net, or www.virginiascreenwritersforum.org

Hampton Roads Authorfest

Saturday, November 22 at 10:00 AM: Hampton Roads Authorfest is a joint presentation between the Meyera E. Oberndorf Central Library branch of the Virginia Beach Public Library and a number of local authors. Readers and fans will have the opportunity to meet 24 authors from a variety of genres, get their autographs and learn from them in a number of presentations. Several of the scheduled events will also appeal to writers. Free. Learn more.

Agile Writers: Write a Novel In A Month

Saturday, November 22 at 1:00 PM: November is “In a Month a Novel” month. To celebrate these 30 special days, Agile Writers has a series of seminars to help you write 50,000 words in the month of November.   Agile Writers combines the lessons of Myth, Storytelling, Psychology, and a little project management to finish your first draft in 30 days. This method was used to SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETE OVER 20 FIRST DRAFT NOVELS THIS YEAR. Yours could be next!   Agile Writers is not just a method of creating a first draft novel. It’s also a peer-supported writing and publishing workshop. Check out http://AgileWriters.o... and RSVP for a Free Seminar.

John Bicknell Brings Us America 1844

Saturday, November 22 at 2:00 PM: The Fountain Bookstore presents John Bicknell, discussing his book America 1844: Religious Fervor, Westward Expansion, and the Presidential Election That Transformed the Nation. John Bicknell has been a journalist for more than 30 years, about half of that in Washington, D.C., where he has been an editor for Roll Call, Congressional Quarterly and FCW. Learn more.

Elizabeth Hein Shares How to Climb the Eiffel Tower

Saturday, November 22 at 3:30 PM: The Fountain Bookstore presents Elizabeth Hein who will iscuss and sign her novel How to Climb the Eiffel Tower. "Lara Blaine’s journey through cancer treatment should be the worst year of her life. Instead, it is the year that she learns how to live." “Fans of Jennifer Weiner, Sarah Pekkanen, and Amy Hatvany will devour How to Climb the Eiffel Tower. This book is for every woman, young or old.”

Poetry Slam Workshop and Open Mic

Saturday, November 22 at 5:00 PM: SlamRichmond's "Poetry Slam Workshop and Open Mic." Every Saturday night. Workshop begins 5:00 p.m.; Performers may sign up for the 8:30pm Open Mic from 8 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. At The Shop, 0 East 4th Street (brick building in the parking lot across from Artspace). For more details visit SlamRichmond., 804-399-0295.

Diversity in Verse

Saturday, November 22 at 6:30 PM: From Chop Suey Books: Join us for an evening of poetry with three Virginia poets: Matthew Hamilton, Angela Carter, and Michael Trocchia.  On our downstairs floor.

Garth Callaghan: The Napkin Notes Dad

Sunday, November 23 at 3:00 PM: Richmond writer Garth Callaghan will sign Napkin Notes: Creating a Daily Connection with Those You Love, a deeply personal chronicle of one man’s love for his family, their battle with cancer, all the life advice he (and any parent) should wish to pass down to their children, and his mission to inspire as many people as possible – while he still can – to connect meaningfully with those they love, as often as they can. Come hear about this inspirational story and meet the man behind it. Recently, film rights were optioned by New Line Cinema.  Learn more at http://www.napkinnote...

The Writers Farmhouse

Wednesday, November 26 at 6:00 PM: Every Wednesday evening, join other writers at the Urban Farmhouse in Midlothian. You can write, get feedback and encouragement, then set a weekly writing goal.

Rojonekku Hand-to-Hand Haiku Tournament

Monthly on the last Wednesday.
: Rojonekku Hand-to-Hand Haiku Tournament is a single-elimination haiku poetry battle done in round formats where any and all competitors are allowed to flex their individual poetic style. It takes only about 20 haiku to compete, though you may not use any more than three (if eliminated early). The goal is to bring together different poetic flavors to cross-pollinate each other, and enjoy ourselves. Additionally, host Raven Mack takes on a willing combatant in a Haiku Death Match (Best-of-25 rounds), and other entertaining nonsense happens as the night allows. For more info, see www.rojonekku.com

Viewing page 1 of 7|Next Page